We Got Baby Chicks!!!

On Saturday we picked up the four baby chicks that we had reserved.

My kids were so excited and so was I!

Aren’t they cute?

DSC_0840

This is the two week old Easter Egger.  She will lay tinted eggs.

DSC_0841

These are the four day old Wyandottes.  We think two of them will be Silver Laced and one will be Golden Laced.  They will lay brown eggs.

DSC_0844

We wanted eight chicks which is the maximum that my town allows, but the breeder that I bought these from only had these four left.

Also, a coop for eight chickens is much harder to come by if you are on a shoestring budget like I am.  I decided to buy a coop similar to this one which is large enough for four chickens.  It will need some minor modifications to be fully predator proof, but I saved about $100 by planning to do these by myself.

My plan is for the girls to live in this coop for the summer while I build a larger coop to house eight chickens.  I haven’t been able to find plans on line with the dimensions, design and building materials that I want, so I’m designing it myself.  Stay tuned for that project!

3 thoughts on “We Got Baby Chicks!!!

  1. Pingback: The Chicken Budget | Wildflower Four

Leave a Reply

