Why I’m Giving Up Eating Out For Lent

I thought long and hard about what to give up for Lent.  I have lots of options…Facebook, chocolate, Candy Crush Saga, coffee, etc.

I wanted something that would be a sacrifice for me, but would also benefit my family.  I decided to give up eating out for the following reasons.

1)  It’s healthier for my family to eat home cooked meals.  I control the ingredients and portion sizes.

2)  It’s a sacrifice for me because ordering out or running to McDonald’s has always been what I did when I was too tired to cook or too stressed to figure out what to make.  Now for forty days, I don’t have that option.

3)  It’s healthier for our budget.  Eating out is expensive!  Our family of six can easily spend $30 on fast food.  I can buy lots of whole foods for $30 and even splurge on items, like shrimp, that I don’t buy on a regular basis.

4)  It’s forcing me to create and stick to a meal plan.  I’ve been trying to do this for over a year, but I always give it up after a few days because I have a stressful or exhausting day and I default to take out food.

What did you give up for Lent?

Leave a Reply

